Cabernet Sauvignon grape cluster, shown by DNA...

Image via Wikipedia

Some of the great Bordeaux’s are made by mixing different grapes together to form a great wine. They often mix Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc together in this region of France. The amounts of each grape are highly kept secrets. I enjoy mixing different grapes as well and my favorite is Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon (50/50). I have experimented with mixing them early in fermentation, later in cold storage and after aging 1 or 2 years. For me mixing them after aging seems to build each grapes flavors the best.

I have a great winery near me called Va La Vineyards. The wine master here loves to mix many grapes together to form very unique wines. I love sitting in their tasting room trying each of their fabulous wines. Here is to enjoying the juice from the grape. Send me comments on your favorite mixes or great wineries near you and what you like about them.

