Grapes contain certain polyphenol antioxidant ...

Grapes contain certain polyphenol antioxidant compounds. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

People that make homemade wine are presented with three pasic ways of making their wine:

  1. Grapes – Crush the juice from fresh grapes
  2. Must – Buy the juice in bulk and use it
  3. Kits – Buy a kit of concentrated juice and use it

I usually use the must method since crushing grapes is too much work and is meshy. I sometimes use kits especially for varietals I can’t get as must. This May the Chilean’s are out and for the first time in over 10 years I won’t be doing them. I am getting married! I will however buy some kits and do them in the summer. Kits are about 60% more expensive but in my opinion make a better wine. Many places sell kits now.

